Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I just wanted to say that, being a long-time veteran of this so-called disorder, DP is something that you can LIVE with, even when it's BAD. I'm living proof, like many who post on the board. People talk about how they almost can't function, but I know you can. I know you're afraid to and I believe you're afraid. I know you may feel too numb, too distant from your self to really think that it makes any difference. But, you can do so many things. You're not physically impaired, you're just terrified. I was a taxi driver for four years living undiagnosed with DP/DR, bad visual symptoms, fog, feeling separated from my body, feeling like a robot, and practically every single DP symptom that you've heard to the FULL degree, and I STILL drove a taxi. Not only did I drive the taxi, but I had an extremely good driving record. At any moment I could look at my arms steering the car, just not understanding how I did it. You can drive just FINE with DP. It's just that you can't believe you can drive and feel disconnected to your body at the same time. You're shocked by the feeling. Every time you feel disconnected from yourself, you feel SHOCKED. You don't understand how you do it. Well, the fact is you're not separate from your body, YOU JUST FEEL LIKE YOU ARE. It's you're FEAR of the DP symptoms that stops you from doing things.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hi Guys,