Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
I'm Moose, and I've had dpdr for some time, and I had taken upon myself to experiment on myself and test how my mind reacts to different stumuli (i.e. Drugs)

Alcohol: I can drink as much as I want, and It seems to have no effect on my dpdr, fun
Lexapro: No more panic attacks, no change to dpdr, less anxiety
Marijuana: Severe panic, severe dpdr, super unpleasant
Adderall/Vyvanse: A little more anxiety, doesn't affect dpdr much, fun
Muscle Relaxants: Nothing much at all
Nicotine: none

I believe that the sever dpdr that comes whenever I smoke weed is linked to how my amygdala reacts to the effects of thc...
I believe that through mindfulness and careful dosing, I can overcome this barrier that blocks me from enjoying the effects of Canabis...
I also speculate that my dpdr is a result of my constant rumination within the first few weeks of my dpdr...
I am not a doctor or a neural biologist, and I'm only speculating based on my own experiences.

I have also found that burning ritual incense aides in anxiety reduction and helps me to feel more connected to reality and myself.
Distraction and social interaction also help chip away at the anxiety and dpdr.

Please feel free to share your thoughts!

your local dope-fiend,
Moose C:

·
Registered
3 Posts
That's really similar to how I felt about marijuana.

Smoking daily for years it got to the point of being unbareable. Like anytime I was sober I felt like I needed to smoke to feel normal and then I'd get high and just wish for it to end.

Meditation helped me though.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My problem with marajuana, is that when I was younger, toking up used to be such a positive experience... but now... it's just so terrible...

With that in mind, I've decided to stay away from any psychedelics, until my mental health had drastically improved, and/or marjuana is legalized.