Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been suffering from daily DR for about 3 months now. Sometimes it only last a few hours, but most days it averages 12 to 16 hours and some days it's there when I wake up and there when I go to bed.

I'm not exactly sure how it started, but I've had some fairly traumatic experiences with SSRIs and benzos I've been prescribed for generalized anxiety disorder. One of which was a span of 10 days where I had become so dependent on Xanax and was having such a terrible reaction to Prozac that I was only eating an apple and a half cup of mashed potatoes each day and don't remember most days. The DR didn't start then, however. It was a good two months after that when I had been on Lexapro and Klonopin for a good two months already to help with the Xanax withdrawal.

I've been off all medications now for about 2 months. I slowly weened myself off the Klonopin and stopped the Lexapro cold turkey with my doctor's blessing since I was on such a low dose and neither were making the slightest difference in my symptoms and were likely exacerbating them. Since coming off of them, however, the DR has gotten a lot worse, although many of my other symptoms have disappeared. I'm seeing a therapist for my anxiety issues who doesn't seem to have much of an understanding of what I'm going through with the DR. He keeps telling me he doesn't understand why I'm dissociating when there's no anxiety or clear trauma present.