Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Does anyone think that their DR was caused by withdrawal from an SNRI or SSRI? Mine started after withdrawal from Cymbalta (Duloxetine) and has been constant for three years.

No doctors will concede this but I am certain that this is the link.

Strangely, though, reinstating Cymbalta did not help, which means that the DR DP is not a withdrawal symptom in and of itself but rather the withdrawal trauma to the brain made some possibly permanent physiological changes and now I am stuck with this.

I am not a crazy person or stoner, never really drank and never ever took any illegal drugs in my life. I had a happy childhood, no traumas, no abusive parents. I was a straight A student and Fulbright Scholar. I have an M.A. from the University of Chicago and had a tenured career. I am not trying to brag but to point out that I used to be intelligent and had a reason to work and excel at things. Now my DR is so bad that not only can I not work, but many days I cannot drive or even cook because its too dangerous. Some days I cannot string sentences together. It's like trying to get behind the wheel while your rip-roaring drunk or slicing vegetables after finishing a bottle of bourbon.

AND THE WORST PART: THE MEDICAL COMMUNITY SEEMS TO KNOW SO LITTLE ABOUT THIS!!!

I am treated at Stanford, the best and the brightest, and no one can help!

I am not depressed, anxious, blah blah blah I just have chronic DR due to something physiological happening in my brain.

This is a living nightmare, it is hell on earth, it is like you are the living dead, as one guy called it "a walking death"....

There is nothing worse than this. I would cut off both arms or legs to get my brain back. literally. No amount of pain compares to this. You look normal on the outside, you cannot explain it to others, you have to pretend all is well to everyone you meet.