Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
935 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I came across this story a few weeks ago and thought it might be of some help to some of you as I read that a few of you were questioning whether drug induced DP was permanent. Its a bit long but worth it.

Five years ago, when i was 21, i had never heard of depersonalisation. i was a happy university student, merry with life, friends and essays, oblivious to any world except my own steady, reliable one. although i was a shy, deep thinking person i had never felt particularly anxious or stressed about anything in my life and had never suffered from any neurosis or psychological problems at all. at 21, i was a small cheery boat bobbing along on the ocean, basking in the sun; i was a bright red balloon exploring lightly in the air. quite simply, i was ignorant of any possibility of my life changing at all. blinded by the sun, i was not aware of the thunderbolt that was streaming headlong towards me.

depersonalisation (dp) is a horrible, unpredictable, inexplicable experience. more than anything, it is frightening. it is described by medical dictionaries as ' a sensation of feeling as if living in a dream, feeling of nothing being real, feeling detached from oneself, yet remaining aware this is just a sensation'. i know, it sounds really crazy and unimaginable. even now as i write this with the memory of dp inside me, knowing exactly what it is like, i cannot remember precisely how it felt and i cannot relive the terror of the feeling. that is a mercy for me.