Depersonalization Support Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Has anyone on here disclosed to their employer that they have depersonalization/derrealization? What's your experience been?

I am currently able to work but I'm stuck in a dead-end desk job, after giving up on pursuing a career in the industry I got an undergraduate degree in a couple of years ago. Even though I managed to graduate with a 2:1, my last year of university was a real struggle ( after I also had to retake a year because of a really rough patch with DPD). This completely put me off trying to get a job in the highly competitive industry I studied for, feeling like I would be unable to cope with the pressure, the fast-pace and the harsh feedback. I also needed to build a portfolio in order to apply for these jobs and I completely lack the motivation and ability concentrate and focus to do this, even though I still find the work enjoyable.

I have settled for desk jobs that are not as demanding, but in order to progress to a better salary, I still need to be able to perform well. I am scared that my DPD symptoms will affect any job I might apply for that brings decent money, as I don't have great memory, it takes me a long time to learn new things, my concentration is terrible and I can barely manage my time. I didn't used to struggle with this at all before my DPD got more severe.

At the same time, I can't bare the idea of doing the type mind numbing work I do right now. I know I'm not stupid, but I feel like my DPD is preventing me from achieving what I want. I just feel stuck.