Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I always find that when I wake-up in the morning, my derealization is at its worst. I'm basically emotionally crippled until at least 1-3 pm.

Do you guys have any tips on what I can do to manage my symptoms in the morning?

·
Registered
19 Posts
if your dp was caused by stress/anxiety then your dp is a symptom of that. In the morning when we wake up, our dp is worse because our cortisol levels are highest. Cortisol is a hormone made by our adrenaline glands :)
I'm not a doctor but its a fact they are higher in the morning and it makes sense as to why you feel worse

·
Registered
51 Posts
I really don't know what causes dp but I do think it has to do with a lack of attachment that a lot of ppl hate at the beginning of life. That early connection is so important.
My mother suffered from dp. She described the glass between her and the world that a lot of ppl describe. I don't think I was able to bond with her except to feel a part of her, but not a separate person with my own needs. It was always on shaky ground that I stood when I expressed my needs. I think my mother found it threatening since she couldn't handle it nor being alone. It was a merging kind of relationship. And one where there was betrayal of my mother developed a relationship with a man. I wasn't protected from the whims that her bfs had. Her relationships took center stage.
Today it is hard. I've had another relapse. I look around and see Xmas decorations but I feel like I'm on another planet.
I really want to be part of the world again but it's nit happening. I think I need to get into another structure and not rely on the poor attachment I have w the world for safety.

·
Registered
251 Posts