Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone

I'll try and make this post as short as possible.

I'm very confused with my life right now. I started training as a psychotherapist over a year ago. I started training after being in therapy for 6 years and feeling like my mental health was as much under control as it could be (even though my DP aid chronic). The pressure from my course is making my DP worse and I became dependent on Valium over the summer which I had to titrate, but I think I'm experiencing protracted withdrawal from the Valium which is manifesting as heightened DP. I'm feeling pretty lost and apathetic about life at the moment. I'm not suicidal but couldn't say I care that much for being alive.

Anyway, even though I'm interested in mental health, I don't think I can deal with the interpersonal aspect of being a therapist. I think it's important to have some social interaction in whatever work I do, but it has to be in a way that doesn't trigger me or make me dread going into work.

Does anyone have any ideas of what kinds of jobs would suit someone with DP? I'd just like to get some ideas for now and then will do some research as to what suits me in terms of my interests, other job preferences etc.

Thanks in advance for any input given ????.

·
Registered
91 Posts
I've DP since 2005. I'm a freelance web developer. I've been working from home for 3yrs.

I'm able to distract myself by working on interesting problems. This has been my main strength to get through the past 5yrs.

I don't know what I would've done otherwise.

So I think it's important to find a job that's stimulating (to the brain).

Perhaps not putting pickles on cheeseburgers.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I've DP since 2005. I'm a freelance web developer. I've been working from home for 3yrs.