Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been experiencing nonstop dissociation since I graduated the 12th grade In May. At first I thought I'd be able to manage it on my own in college because I thought it would go away or get better on its own and It wasn't as severe as it is now for me. I am completely unable to focus because of my dissociation and am falling really behind in school so I made an appointment with a new Psychiatrist because I REALLY need to get better, I've tried everything at this point.

I've had a psychiatrist in the past for my ADHD but she recently retired. I just feel very awkward talking about all of this with a psychiatrist because It's something a lot less talked about and more out of the ordinary than ADHD. I've always been really healthy mentally minus trouble focusing but my adderrall really helped with that. I feel like my doctor is going think I'm crazy or have absolutely no idea what I'm talking about and misdiagnose me. (I don't want to be sent to a mental ward lol) I guess I'm just not sure how to bring up the subject completely on the first day I meet with my new doctor since I've only told my mom and boyfriend about what I'm going through. I don't want to overwhelm him either, I suffer from a lot of the more serious/bizarre symptoms of DPD (which I'm 95% sure I have).

Does anyone have any advice to help me talk about this sort of thing without freaking my doctor out? I know he probably sees weird stuff every day but I just feel a bit uncomfortable. I just want to really tell the truth about what's going on with tme without seeming extremely delusional because I really really want this to end.

·
Registered
31 Posts