Depersonalization Support Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found this site (url posted below) very imformative. For instance I read that when one is withdrawing from Xanax switching to another benzo doesn't help. One must taper off Xanax by itself. Also Xanax is the most addictive of all the benzos and it's half life is 11 hours. I am thinking I would like to try and discontinue Xanax, but I don't want to substitute another drug for it. I just quit drinking fivemonths ago and I had been drinking 6 + drinks a day for thirty years. worked great for me and my DP/DR. in combination with a small amount of Xanax. And i miss the drinking in particualr for that reason. I didn't have any noticaeable withdrawal symptoms when I stopped drinking. (cold turkey) But I did double my daily Xanax intake. Anyway I don't want to be moving to fast with this. One of the things I like so much about Xanax is that I have control over the effects. i.e. if I take 3/4 of a mg and after a half hour or so that doesn't seem to be enough in knocking back anxiety I can take an additional 1/4mg. I will have to say though I do think and feel that Ihave reached a point where I am medicating withdrawal symptoms sometimes rather than existing anxiety. Of course is is very difficult at this time to determine one from the other. My gravest concern is being so dependant upon the medical profession because of my habituation to this drug. The other day I was asking a pharmacist about XanaxXR a one a day time release tablet and when I told him I had been taking Xanax for many years he sort of gave me the "cold shoulder" and made me feel as though I was a criminal or something. I hate this sort of attitude amongst medical professionals.