Depersonalization Support Forum banner

All about me

1K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  ewalford 
#1 ·
Evening all,

I'm a newbie on here as you will probably of guessed seeing that I'm posting in an introducing yourself topic!

For me, anxiety and depression is something that I've been feeling with since the age of 18, although looking back I probably suffered from the age of 12 but didn't realise that I was at the time, if that makes sense?

My anxiety/depression usually manifests itself as obsessive thoughts, but this time it seems different....

Can anyone relate to the following:

Listening to the TV or someone else speak and not being able to comprehend what they say? As if your mind is telling that you cannot understand simple words? The same goes for reading as well - not being able to comprehend words on the page.

Any advice would be great.:)

Thanks a lot.

Ed

See less See more
G
#2 · (Edited)
Hi Ed,

Yep, they say hindsight's 20/20. I think lots of people go on to see they had problems earlier than they realized at the time, often when circumstances change and they find more perspective and insight.

I have heard people here describing similar issues to the ones you have - trouble concentrating, reading and just comprehending what others are saying. Welcome to the site :)

#4 · (Edited by Moderator)
Evening all,

I'm a newbie on here as you will probably of guessed seeing that I'm posting in an introducing yourself topic!

For me, anxiety and depression is something that I've been feeling with since the age of 18, although looking back I probably suffered from the age of 12 but didn't realise that I was at the time, if that makes sense?

My anxiety/depression usually manifests itself as obsessive thoughts, but this time it seems different....

Can anyone relate to the following: