How to recover from "DP/DR"! - Recovery Stories - Depersonalization Community

Please Read the Community Forum Guidelines Before Posting.

Photo

How to recover from "DP/DR"!

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 yoloking

yoloking

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 20 March 2015 - 03:21 PM

I am nearly 100% recovered and would like to share my story and offer my thoughts/experience/insight to hopefully help others. 

First, my story with DP/DR.  Let me tell you a little bit about myself.  I am a 19 year old student from the UK.

My DP/DR was triggered by a panic attack from being too drunk/high in a crowded train car on New Years eve.  It was the most intense experience I have had: the world seemed to slow down to a complete stop; I felt like I had fallen into some kind of void of consciousness.  Anyways, everything was fine until a few days later when I began to feel "high" again (it is important to mention that I was also going through a very stressful period in my life).  I tried to resist the feeling but doing so only made it worse.  Almost immediately, the classic symptoms appeared: panic attacks, emotional numbness, 2D vision, floaters, visual snow, after-images, tormenting existential thoughts.  Unfortunately, like a lot of people I thought that I had either triggered schizophrenia or somehow fucked up my brain with drugs.   The first month was absolute hell.  Most of my time was spent sleeping, crying or mindlessly surfing the internet.  I did not have the nerve to tell my parents or seek help or treatment.  I constantly had mild panic attacks in class and could not concentrate on anything.  It got so bad that for a while, I contemplated dropping out of uni...