Hello Old Friends...! - The Daily Forum - Depersonalization Community

Please Read the Community Forum Guidelines Before Posting.

Photo

Hello Old Friends...!

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Matt210

Matt210

Senior DPSelfhelp.com Member

• DPSH Members
  • 1134 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 07 July 2010 - 05:01 PM

Hey everyone - haven't been on here in quite some time, but i'm a veteran of this site. It always comforts me when I come back to see very few of the same people from last time I was here - as it likely means my old friends are doing fine.

When I was last here I was slowing withdrawing from Benzos (Klonopin) which proved much harder than I ever thought possible considering at my peak I was only on 1mg per day. Withdrawal was hell but I was feeling pretty damn good and I knew I didn't want to be on Benzos for the rest of my life so I hung in there. I was Benzo free for quite a while, and now take only the occasional benzo (maybe two tablets of 0.5 mg per month). I was also on Lexapro, which I found did nothing for me except made me fat and constantly tired. I made the decision against my doctors advice to take myself off them. Because my doctor wouldn't give me 10mg tablets I was required to go from a 20mg per day, to 10 mg per day for a few weeks, and then stop cold turkey. It was pretty brutal - i was agitated all the time and and had OCD thoughts through the roof.

I've sort of bounced back from that, but have been having a rough week so I thought i'd stop in here.

I like to always leave a message of positivity because there often isn't enough of that here: All of you are fine. Those of you who don't feel fine, will again. You're all warriors - keep battling! For eight years now i've battled severe anxiety, even more severe depersonalization and derealization, OCD thoughts, you name it. The DP/DR were one of the toughest to kick but I did it.