My recovery story - Recovery Stories - Depersonalization Community

Please Read the Community Forum Guidelines Before Posting.

Photo

My recovery story

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Kanu

Kanu

• DPSH Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 21 October 2020 - 12:24 AM

Hi guys,

I hope that everyone is making progress on the path to recovery.

This is my second post here. The first one has the title "Newbie here...Cannabidiol oil induced DP/DR. Please help!" and it was posted on 22/07/2018. I am happy to say that I am, practically, recovered. 

First, I would like to thank "Amina_x", "nicewon", "Eddy1886" and "Phantasm" for their kind messages and support. 

The goal of this post is to give hope to those who are still suffering, and to explain how I recovered in the hope that some of you will find this helpful. 

Here is my recovery story...

During the first few weeks of being in a DP+DR state (almost 24/7), I was very hesitant of trying anything that is not natural in fear of making things worse. So, my strategy was to give my brain an opportunity to recover by itself while helping it with some natural supplements/sleep/working out/good diet. I was living in a constant state of anxiety, hopelessness, and unhedonia, but I tried to keep myself busy to forget what was going on. 

Things I tried during this phase:

1- S-adenoyl-l-methionine (SAMe): No effect.

2- Common vitamines/minerals: No effect.

3- Weight lifting: Good effect but not significant.

4-Excellent diet: No direct/apparent effect.

I reached a point where I had to go to the next step. So, I went to a psychiatrist. After about a 30 min consultation, I understood that he is not really familiar with DP/DR but he seemed really knowledgable about how the brain works. He said that I should be fine if I take an SSRI (Escitalopram) and a benzodiazepine.